Hoover Junior Sailors at C420 Mid Winters

Doug SquiresLeadline, Leadline Club News, News

The 2019 C420 Midwinters took place at the US Sailing Center Martin County (USSCMC) near Jensen Beach Florida, February 16-18. In early December 2018, the USSCMC also hosted US Sailing Junior Olympics for C420 teams.  Both regattas were well-run, attracted top sailors and should be on the radar of  C420 racers looking for wintertime warm weather sailing. Former Leatherlips sailor Ryan Clarke is the Sailing Director at USSCMC and he is happy to help in advance or when you get to sunny Florida. Ryan coordinates 100 volunteers for an event like Midwinters, stands ready for breakdowns, and lends a hand when needed.

The 103-boat fleet at the 2019 Club 420 Midwinters was made up of high school and college-aged sailors of not more than 22 years old.  2019 Midwinters in February, boasted 80 degree temperatures in warm water and range of 6-18 knots of breeze over the three day regatta. The first two days were a qualifying round, where the fleet was divided into two and seeded by a formula. The final day was a medal round with 52 boats in a gold fleet and 51 boats sailing in silver.

Playing the shifts was key throughout Midwinters, in chop and wind similar to Hoover. Day one, brought shifty and puffy conditions throughout the racing, while the second day of the qualifying round started light, but built for the final two races. The third day of medal racing started off light, but the filling sea breeze made for an exciting end to the event. Hoover junior sailors Grace Squires and Michaela O’Donnell placed second in the silver fleet and brought home a trophy.  It takes a village; and David Hein (Edgewater YC), attending Jacksonville University, was on-hand for a practice day, and coached the Ohio girls during the very competitive regatta.

The USSCMC has a great line-up of PRO’s keeping racing strong and fair. Launching from sandy beaches on the beautiful grounds of the USSCMC should be in the plans of your next va-gatta (VAcation- ReGATTA)!

Overall results may be found here.

Top 5 Gold Fleet

  1. Boyd Bragg/ Ryan Wahba (Christchurch)
  2. Colleen O’Brien/ Michaela O’Brien (Bay Head YC)
  3. Jordan Bruce/ Andrea Reifkohl (CCS/AYC)
  4. Rayne Duff/ Savannah Young (St. Thomas YC) (top junior)
  5. Luke Arnone/ Nathan Smith (CCS/CYC)

Top 5 Silver Fleet

  1. Thomas Erisman/Griffin Pollis (Encinal YC)
  2. Grace Squires/Michaela O’Donnell (Hoover SC)
  3. Nat Edmonds/Isaiah Farr (Wianno YC)
  4. Lily Flack/Braedon Hansen (Mudratz)
  5. Daniel Erisman/Devon Kurisu (Encinal YC)